Europa - News and Society

European News Portal

  • Full Screen
  • Wide Screen
  • Narrow Screen
  • incrementa grandezza carattere
  • Default font size
  • Riduci grandezza carattere

Appointment of the new OLAF Supervisory Committee

E-mail Stampa PDF

OLAF Press Release
Brussels, 24 January 2012 – The European Parliament, the Council and the European Commission today formally approved the appointment of the new members of the Supervisory Committee of the European Anti-Fraud Office, OLAF.
The five appointees from outside the European institutions hold high positions in their own countries in fields related to OLAF's areas of activity. They will serve a three-year term from 2012 to 2015. The new appointees are:
• Mr Herbert Bösch (Austrian), former Member of the European Parliament
• Mr Johan Denolf (Belgian), Director of the Belgian Federal Police
• Ms Catherine Pignon (French), Chief Public Prosecutor at the Court of Appeal in Angers
• Ms Rita Schembri (Maltese), Director-General of the Internal Audit and Investigations Department in the Office of the Maltese Prime Minister
• Mr Christiaan Timmermans (Dutch), former Judge at the Court of Justice of the European Union.
The Supervisory Committee reinforces the independence of the European Anti-Fraud Office (OLAF) by carrying out regular monitoring of the implementation of the investigative function. At the request of OLAF’s Director, or on its own initiative, the Committee delivers opinions to the Director concerning OLAF’s activities, but does not interfere in the conduct of ongoing investigations.
The Supervisory Committee must meet at least ten times a year and produces at least one report addressed to the European institutions annually. As well as presenting reports to the institutions it can report to the European Court of Auditors on the results of and follow-up to OLAF investigations.
The new members, who were selected on 6 December 2011 by a group of representatives from Parliament, the Council and the Commission, are being officially appointed today.
Four other names have been put on the list of alternates who, where necessary, will replace members in the following order of priority:
•    Mr Jens Madsen (Danish)
•    Ms Cristina Nicoara (Romanian)
•    Mr Tuomas Henrik Poysti (Finnish)
•    Mr Dimitrios Zimianitis (Greek)

Homepage of Algirdas Šemeta, European Commissioner for Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-fraud
You are here